📣🚀🐣🌼 Sonic Bloom - Spring Sale! | Exclusive offers for Cloud Shared Hosting - 70% OFF | Starting from $3.99/mo
Learn Ghost

Young blogging platform build on tope of node.js for fast loading speed and easy scalability!

• Last Updated: 05/11/2020
• ( 2 minutes reading )

How to delete all content of your Ghost blogging platform

Introduction

Unlike other blogging applications which require specific mods or plugins to perform the so-called “Hard Reset”, Ghost has a built-in switch that allows you to delete all the posts and tags with a single click.

This can be useful when you were working on a project, but you are not happy with how the content turned out, and you would like a fresh start, without having to install a new Ghost instance. Another useful scenario where this functionality can come in handy is when you want to migrate content from a different blog, and you want to wipe the current posts and tags, so they do not interfere with the new stuff you are about to deploy.

In this article, we are going to talk about how you can “Hard Reset” your blog and start over from scratch. Let’s begin!

 

Accessing the Hard Reset functionality

To access the import functionality, please log into your Ghost’s admin dashboard. To do so, please open your favorite browser and enter your domain name, followed by "/ghost". For example:

  • ghost.hostarmadatutorials.com/ghost

 

Login page

 

Once logged in, please access the “Labs” tab from the left sidebar.

 

Access Labs section

 

Afterward, you will be redirected to a page holding various features that allow you to perform different tasks on your blog.

 

Delete all content function

 

Under the “Migration Options” section, you will see the “Delete all content” functionality.

 

Deleting Content

Removing all the content from your blog is an easy, yet very responsible task. Before doing so, you need to make sure that the posts you are about to delete are no longer need. If required, you may export them in order to be safeguarded. We have a great tutorial on How to export content from your Ghost blogging platform, which you are welcome to check out.

To perform the full reset, please click the “Delete” button on the row, corresponding to the “Delete all content” functionality.

 

Delete content button

 

Upon clicking the button, a pop-up warning will appear, indicating that all content will be deleted. If you are sure you want to proceed, please press the “Delete” button.

 

Content Deletion confirmation

 

After the process is complete, you will receive an “All content deleted from the database.” message on the top of the page.

 

Ghost Content deleted notification

 

And there you have it! The in-built method you can use to remove all your content from your Ghost blog - a handy feature that needs to be used with extreme awareness!

 

 

...
Sebahat
Technical Support Captain

Sebahat is a young and bright woman who has become an invaluable part of our team. She started as a Customer Care Representative, mastering that role and, along the way, growing into a tech-savvy individual who is well acquainted with every support layer of the company. Driven by her aim to improve our customers’ experience constantly, she is committed to enhancing the extraordinary support we deliver.